On December 19th, he was given the grand prize at the 2020 SBS Entertainment Awards, for Runningman and My Little Old Boy. He won the honorable award as he beat out strong candidates such as Yoo Jae Suk, Kim Gu Ra, Seo Jang Hoon, Baek Jong Won, and Yang Se Hyung. This is the first time in his 25 year career that he won the grand prize at all three terrestrial broadcasting companies, KBS, MBC, and SBS. As he was announced as the winner, Kim Jong Kook commented ŌĆ£IŌĆÖve received a grand prize as a singer before. Back then, I was very indifferent. I have my regrets about how I couldnŌĆÖt enjoy my award. So this award is more so valuable to me.ŌĆØ He continued, ŌĆ£many people donŌĆÖt know that I was a singer. At first, I appeared on shows to promote my songs. I didnŌĆÖt know how to be an entertainer and didnŌĆÖt like that I had to stand in front of people. But through X-man, I met Jae Suk and Ho Dong who became great mentors as they led entertainment shows to become the whole of my life.ŌĆØ Kim Jong Kook was actively participating in SBS Entertainment this year, as he was in Runningman and My Little Old Boy. He also appeared on Delivery Today and, in K-Trot in Town, he took the role of special MC for the revival match. The entertainer assured that he would steadily, faithfully, and diligently continue his work. Kim Jong Kook also cheered viewers up, by affirming that he will try to bring a little fun amidst the hard times of the COVID-19 crisis. ┬Ā Source (1)

Kim Jong Kook Wins Grand Prize for SBS Entertainment Awards 2020 - 93