In a video interview held on the 23rd, Han Ye Ri told various stories about the film. Minari, which is currently highly praised by critics, is considered a strong candidate for the Academy Awards in April. Han Ye Ri said, ŌĆ£I didnŌĆÖt know there would be such a huge response. I went into the work with the thought of participating in a small work,ŌĆØ expressing her surprise. She first mentioned director Isaac Chung as her reason to feature in the movie. ŌĆ£I didnŌĆÖt exactly know what Monica was like after receiving the translated scenario. The director felt like a good person when I met him, and we bonded over our childhoods which were not different. I was convinced that we could make Monica together.ŌĆØ She also revealed behind-the-scenes stories for appearing in Minari. ŌĆ£When I was not confirmed to appear, I learned that a lot of other actors were recommended and that there were talks about auditions. Nevertheless, I was told that the director said that ŌĆśHan Ye Ri is the only one who can do it.ŌĆÖ IŌĆÖm grateful that he trusted me until the end.ŌĆØ How was she able to approach the emotions of a mother of two? ŌĆ£It was hard to fully sympathize with those emotions as I am not married. I reminded myself of many women I know. Through my mother, grandmother, and six aunts, I rejuvenated the images of various women of the time. My parents got married at a young age and raised a child. They grew simultaneously as their children grew, experiencing the growing pains together. I thought it wouldnŌĆÖt have been easy to raise children.ŌĆØ Han Ye Ri expressed her gratitude to Steven Yeun, whom she worked along with. ŌĆ£HeŌĆÖs passionate. He kept asking ŌĆśWhat do you think?ŌĆÖ and ŌĆśShould I act again?ŌĆÖ whenever it was even a little uncomfortable or awkward at all. He was an actor who knew what mindset to have for this work, without prioritizing his ego. He must have felt that this is his story, as he is an immigrant. I also wanted to do better seeing Steven YeunŌĆÖs honest attitude.ŌĆØ She said to have learned a lot from playing Mother-Daughter with Youn Yuh Jung. ŌĆ£SheŌĆÖs an attractive person, and IŌĆÖve learned a lot of courage. Youn Yuh JungŌĆÖs sense of humor became good energy for the set. I learned from how she worked with people who she did not know, in a foreign country, without worries. I headed to the U.S. worrying ŌĆśHow I said I would actŌĆÖ while looking at the scenario, but Youn Yuh Jung was different. Though we already knew about her acting skills, it was both disappointing and delighting that Americans have just found that out.ŌĆØ She could not hide how unsatisfactory it was that Minari was classified as a part of the ŌĆśForeign Language Film AwardŌĆÖ for the Golden Globe Awards. ŌĆ£It of course feels disheartening to be classified as a Foreign Language Film. I feel like the director and Steven be upset.ŌĆØ Lastly, Han Ye Ri said that ŌĆ£Minari will be remembered as a good work. I donŌĆÖt know if IŌĆÖd be able to have such an experience again. ItŌĆÖd be great if I get such a golden chance like this again, but I also think there may be no such luck. It would be nice to hear from the audience that ŌĆśThereŌĆÖs a power within Han Ye Ri.ŌĆÖŌĆØ Source (1,2)

Han Ye Ri and    Minari     the Unparalleled Golden Chance - 10Han Ye Ri and    Minari     the Unparalleled Golden Chance - 24Han Ye Ri and    Minari     the Unparalleled Golden Chance - 23Han Ye Ri and    Minari     the Unparalleled Golden Chance - 47